Are We Addicted To Social Media?

dscn0519Firstly, I would just like to say that I am in no way trying to put down social media because without it I wouldn’t have made so many new friends.

Are you one of those people who frantically reaches into your handbag for your phone to take a picture of your meal as soon as it hits the table? Let’s be honest the majority of us are guilty of doing this wether it be taking a quick snap of your pumpkin spiced latte in Costa or sneakily trying to take a photo of your TGIFridays so that the whole of Instagram knows that you’re currently sat in TGIFridays.

I’ll hold my hands up and admit that I am one of those people. If you to go to a restaurant or cafe with me then it’s highly likely I’ll embarrass you by taking multiple photos of my meal or cute coffee, and let’s just say I’m not that discrete about taking the photo either. What is this saying about us as a generation, maybe we’re slightly addicted to social media? Not only will we go to all lengths to get the perfect picture for Instagram but the first thing we’ll do in the morning is check our phone, then check again throughout the day to make sure we haven’t missed anything and the last thing we’ll do before we go to bed is check how many likes we got on our latest post and how many new followers we have gained. Although I’m just a little bit addicted to social media I definitely have a love/hate relationship with it too and I’m guessing that most of you probably feel the same way too?

img_0251

However, not everything online is what it seems. At a first glance that picture you’ve just seen of a beautifully decorated table at a cafe with delicious looking food might look like the best cafe ever but in reality the food maybe horrible, all in all a waste of money. Before you compare your life to somebody else’s on social media stop and think  because I can guarantee you that their life isn’t all perfect, after all you are only seeing a very tiny snippet of their life. It’s also important to remember that the majority of people won’t share the bad things on social media so just bare that in mind.

The reason I decided to write this blogpost is because I’d love to hear your thoughts on the matter. Do you think that we all use social media a bit too much? Have a lovely day!

Bekkah x

Leave a Reply

